What is The Dynamic Life and Why Do I Care?

My name is Hugh and I’ve been an athlete and an astute student of the human body for as long as I can remember.  I’m not a doctor or anything like that – I am just passionate about fitness, nutrition, health, and the overall wellness of the human body.  I really can’t get enough – I’ve read dozens of books and thousands of articles, I’ve tried countless “diets” and workout regimens, and over the years have held different philosophies on how to treat one’s body.  I’ve learned a ton, but I also know that what I’ve learned thus far is miniscule in comparison to what I am capable of learning the rest of my life.  And that’s what’s so intriguing to me.  When it comes to the human body, no one has all the answers, and new discoveries are being made every day.  It’s exciting to know that there is endless information out there about our bodies, and we have the ability to have a profound effect on ourselves just by learning and applying a tiny fraction of that information.

I’m not a scientist, but I’m fascinated with the science of us (and all animals, for that matter).  Every single decision we make about how to eat, how to exercise, and just how to treat our bodies overall has an effect.  The effect may not be immediate or measurable, but it is an effect nonetheless.  A single decision does not have a profound effect, but many decisions put together yield more dynamic and profound effects.  By “many decisions put together”, I’m referring to habits.

Habits, to me, are what really shape a person’s life.  Positive, consistent habits have an overall positive effect on a person’s life, while consistently negative habits will have an overall negative effect on a person’s life.  Simple enough, right?  It is, and most people know this, but few are actually aware of this on a daily basis, and even fewer put this into practice in a way that improves their lives.

I’ve never been fat or more than slightly overweight, but I’ve tried my share of modern-day diets and exercise regimens.  I’ve tried these sort of out of curiosity and experiment – sometimes to lose those extra few visceral pounds before beach season, sometimes to become stronger or faster for sports, and sometimes to try to increase my overall, daily energy levels.  What I’ve found, like many people know but fail to accept, is that short-term fad diets and exercise regimens simply don’t work.  Truth is, they likely even have negative effects, but that’s a whole other story.

Instead, what I focus on, and what I will discuss in this blog, is the creation and following of long-term, realistic, positive habits that will make you feel and look better every day.  For me, my habits, or lifestyle adjustments, have made, and continue to make, my life better on a daily basis.  The coolest part about all of this is that education and the development of positive habits is an ongoing process.

Our lives need to be balanced – we need to balance intense exercise with rest, voracious activity with calm, healthy eating with moments of indulgence – you get the point.  For me, balance is key.  I’ve gotten to the point where I feel very stressed out when my life-balance is thrown off, and I think many people have similar feelings.

I don’t have all the answers and neither does anyone else, but we all learn from each other.  Thus, we can all improve our bodies, and our lives, on a continuous basis.

I’m also a big believer in the mind-body connection.  We simply can’t begin to implement healthy habits in our lives without first thinking about them and then committing our minds.  Our mind and body both have to be on board in order to make any significant, sustainable changes.  That being said, I intend to offer posts and advice on the power of positive thinking and mind-body connection when developing healthy, life-changing habits.

I also intend to blog about other passions of mine, namely travel and reading.  Writing about health, fitness, and nutrition all the time wouldn’t be balanced now, would it?

The Dynamic Life is about constant, gradual, change and development in a positive direction.  The beauty of life is that we have control over ourselves.  We can improve our lives each and every day, even if it’s just a small change.  By Dynamic, I don’t mean constant motion and activity.  What I mean is an overall positive movement toward self-improvement in the spheres of health, nutrition, and fitness, which makes our lives better as a whole.

And this is not a one-way street here, folks.  Like I said before, what I have learned in the past ten years is nothing compared to what there is yet to learn, so I hope to learn from all of you as well.  The amazing thing about the Internet is the endless network of people and information from which to learn.  This can be overwhelming for many of us at times; I know I struggle with it.  But it can also be extremely powerful and eye-opening.  And that’s what I hope to contribute.  Enjoy…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

