Running the Mississippi

I feel like Huck Finn this morning.

I arrived in Baton Rouge, Louisiana yesterday evening after a looooong day of travel that involved a 2:45 AM wake-up call back home in New Jersey in order to make my 5:30 AM flight from EWR.  Who knew flights begin that early in the morning?

I knew it would be a long day of travel, so I scheduled yesterday as my off day from training.  So I was really looking forward to my morning run today.  I got a solid 8 hours of sleep in a super-comfortable, dark hotel room.  Don’t you love getting a full 8 hours?!  I woke up at 6:00 to the sun rising over the Mississippi River just outside my window.  Well, the sun wasn’t really visible, since it’s pretty overcast down here, but it was getting bright nonetheless.

As soon as I got to the levee and began running along the shores of the historic river, I thought to myself, “This isn’t something you can do everyday.”  What a treat.  And what a great way to see some of this unique city, some parts that I would otherwise never have seen.  There was a light drizzle and the temp was about 50, but the scenery more than made up for it and kept me moving right along.

I don’t think there’s any better way to explore a new city than by lacing up the old sneaks and trotting out your hotel door.  You get a feel for area, the people on their way to work, other joggers, and life on the ground in general.  You see things you would never notice in a car, train, or tour bus.  For an hour, you feel like you’re a part of that city.  You feel like a local on your morning routine, even though you’re hundreds or thousands of miles from home.  You appreciate your opportunity to explore a new city or town and the travel itch just grows and grows…

Leave a comment

Filed under Running, Training

Leave a Reply

